Prof. Bhagyadhar Rout

Tirtol – a vicinity with its own name and fame – has its unparalleled history and incomparable distinction in carving out a niche in Geo-political and cultural landscape of the state of Odisha being the birth place of Adikavi Saraladas, a literary genius par excellence , a great devout of the Goddess Sarala and most notably a celebrated writer of the Odia Mahabharat- a virtual treasuretrove of Odisha culture. This area got its own language to expose and assert its identity not only in Odisha but also in the whole of India only when a galaxy of intellectuals, academicians and toiling masses assiduously endeavoured with a lot of determination , commitment and confidence to set up an educational institution in the year 1976. Consequent upon this their long cherished desire was translated into reality when this college christened as “Adikavi Saraladas College” witnessed the light of the day on 12.08.1976 to cater to the intellectual appetite of this periphery.

It really unfolded an intellectual bud-time fulfilling a dream worth dreaming. With the march of time and change in condition the tireless efforts of the masses took this nascent institute to its great height and glory trampling down many a difficulties, oddities, ups and downs. Within nearly four decades of its successful journey it has reached the full bloom of its youth being affiliated to Utkal University and accredited by NAAC in 2006 with “B” grade .

This premier institute situated at the heartland of Jagatsinghpur constituency on Cuttack-Paradeep Road has become a hub of learning fully committed to imparting quality education in effectively and meaningfully dispelling the darkness and ignorance with the light of right knowledge among the distressed, deprived, underdeveloped and under-privileged strata of society keeping a balanced pace in this digitally designed technological world with maintaining a beauty and balance in its approach.

Its vast lush green campus, a centrally located library rich in study materials and texts, a dynamic and vibrant NCC and YRC units, comfortable and commodious hostels, class rooms, well equipped laboratories, Administrative Block, no doubt, speak of the gravity grandeur, glamour and status of this Alma Meter.

At present the College has 16 (sixteen) departments such as English, Odia, History, Political Science, Economics, Education, Sanskrit, Sociology, Psychology, Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Mathematics, Geology & Commerce with Hons. teaching facilities in all the subjects. There are 62 teachings and 48 Non-teaching staff with requisite qualifications. The teaching staff with their untiring effort, effective and efficacious teaching have really help propel the wheels of this institution. 

The uniqueness of this institution lies in the fact that among a handful of undergraduate colleges in Odisha it had its reputation in introducing Geology as one of the subjects. Of late, there is a separate Geology department with required number of teachers. This department has produced such talents who have later on been well placed in their life.

The teaching-learning and evaluation process of this College is indeed remarkably outstanding. The teaching process is monitored from various angles such as maintenance of lesson plans, progress reports, scrutiny of classroom presentations by departmental heads and the Principal as a part of his responsibility takes every possible initiative to supervise the classes and whenever expedient, gives his expert and outright suggestion and comment for improvement. Remedial classes are also taken at regular intervals to better the standard of the students. It is suffice to mention here that despite being a rural –bred college the response of the students to the academic . Activities and excellence is also up to mark. Teachers also attend seminars, conferences etc. to refresh their knowledge. They also show their interest and willingness in executing their extra-curricular activities as and when assigned to them. 

Further it is needless to reiterate that its reputation lies in its transparency in its academic, administrative and financial fields. Furthermore this temple of knowledge envisions harnessing the latest available and dependable technology in teaching and learning process with a bid to introduce automation in the library, examination, accounts and establishment section.

Last but not the least the college looks forward to inculcating the spirit of globalization and enabling the young minds to prepare and to face the growing challenges that come on their way.

01Sj. Bishnu Prasad Bahalia M.A (Utkal)12-08-1976 to 25-08-1981
02Dr. Gurupada Parida M.A (Chikago) Ph.D (Utkal)26-08-1981 to 29-01- 1988
03Sj. Alok Kumar Bhanja I/C M.A. (Utkal)30-01-1988 to 08-02-1988
04Sj. Bholanath Rout M.A (Utkal)09-02-1988 to 27-05-1989
05Sj. Kailash Chandra Daash I/C M.A (Utkal)28-05-1989 to 07-02-1990
06Sj. Sukadev Pani M.A (Utkal)08-02-1990 TO 30-09-1991
07Sj. Braja Sundar Mishra M.A (Utkal)01-10-1991 to 03-10-1994
08Sj. Sukadev Pani M.A (Utkal)04-10-1994 to 07-07-1996
09Sj. H.K. Tripathy M. Sc (Utkal)08-07-1996 to 31-12-1999
10Dr. D. Sahani, I/C M.Sc. (Utkal) Ph.D01-01-2000 to 25-06-2000
11Sj. R.N. Mohanty M.Sc. (Utkal)26-06-2000 to 31-08-2003
12Dr. K.C. Bastia M.a. M.Ed. Ph.D. (Utkal)31-08-2003 to 02-07-2004
13Md. A.B.Azad M.A (Utkal) LL.b.02-07-2004 to 31-08-2005
14Prof. S. Mandal M.Com31-08-2005 to 31-07-2007
15Prof. L.K. Chayupattnaik, M.A31-07-2007 to 05-10-2009
16B.K. Swain, M.A. M.Phil05-10-2009 to 08-03-2010
17Prof. N.K. das, M.A. M.Phil09-03-2010 to 28-03-2011
18Prof. S. Mitra,M.Sc28-03-2011 to 26-08-2013
19Prof. K.P. Sahoo, M.A.26.7.2013 to 25.10.2014
20Prof. Radhakanta Sahoo, M.Com. (Berhampur)25.10.2014 to 31.03.2018
21Prof. Bhagyadhar Rout, M.Sc (BHU)01.04.2018 to continuing